Maywood rent control: maximum rent increase (2026)
Bergen County — Chapter 261, Rent Control. Full ordinance text ↗
Summary
- Cap formula
- A flat 4.25% cap per 12-month period; months with outstanding maintenance-code violations do not count toward that 12-month waiting period. Hardship and capital-improvement surcharges may be separately approved.
- Frequency
- once per 12 months
- Notice required
- Landlords must file and serve tenants with a notice containing the date of the last rental increase, the existing rent, and the effective date and amount of the rental increase (§261-8A), using a form approved by the Mayor and Council (§261-8B). Exact number of days' advance notice was not stated in the retrieved text.
- Who's covered
- Buildings with 3 or more rental units
- Exemptions
- 1-family homes
- 2-family homes
- Owner-occupied 3-family homes
- new construction (30 yrs from certificate of occupancy, N.J.S.A. 2A:42-84.2)
- Vacancy decontrol
- Vacancy decontrol applies; per DCA, the maximum increase on re-rental is not to exceed the highest rent charged for a similar unit within the same premises.
- Registration
- Landlords must annually provide the Rent Advisory Board with rent rolls (by June 30), income/expense statements, maintenance certificates, and ownership information (§261-9).
- Surcharges
- Capital improvement surcharges: total improvement cost divided by the IRS depreciation period, then allocated across affected units, requires Board approval, and may not exceed the depreciation period (§261-5E). Hardship relief: landlords may petition the Board for rent-limitation waivers, requiring detailed financial documentation and a hearing (§261-6).
- Penalties
- Violation of any provision of the chapter is punishable by a fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 90 days (§261-11).
- Status
- active
- Confidence
- high
- Last verified
- 2026-09-23
Calculate your maximum increase
Ordinance text
the rent of a rental unit shall not be increased by a percentage of the rent greater than 4 1/4% for each twelve-month period.Chapter 261, Rent Control — https://ecode360.com/10330932
State survey entry
- Increase limit
- 4.25%. Hardship and capital improvement increases may be approved.
- Units covered
- 3+
- Exceptions
- Exception(s) - 1-family, 2-family, and owner-occupied 3-family homes.
Vacancy Decontrol. Maximum increase not to exceed the highest rent charged for a similar unit within the same premises.
Source: NJ Department of Community Affairs, 2026 Rent Control Survey — nj.gov
Open questions
- Exact notice-period (days) for a rent-increase notice under §261-8 was not stated in the retrieved excerpt.
Rent board
Rent Advisory Board · (201) 845-2900 x 203 · https://www.maywoodnj.com/index.asp?SEC=9E1C8372-C03E-4D1A-BA4B-7D986F1CEF08&Type=B_BASIC
Generate a rent increase notice
Fill in the tenant, unit, and rent details and get a printable, ordinance-cited rent increase notice for Maywood — $9, pay by card.
Generate notice — $9